top of page
Steve Larkins

President’s Welcome

Colonel Stephen Larkins OAM (Retd)

Welcome to the Naval, Military and Air Force Club of South Australia.  The Club has a proud heritage dating back to its beginnings in 1879.  The Club’s name reflects its origins rather than any pre-requisite for Membership. However, the Club unashamedly draws on many of the customs and traditions of military Messes, which historically sought to provide a respectful, sociable and civil ‘home away from home’ for their Members.

The Club Motto Pro Aris et Focis reflects the view that our society, commonly translated as ‘Hearths and Homes’, is something to be proud of and which warrants protecting.

Club Members have served the nation with distinction in military service since inception prior to Federation to the current day.  We commemorate those who gave their lives in the course of their service.  Many more have made key contributions to the broader fabric of South Australian society in their civil occupations.

Our Membership embraces people who identify with the values and objects of the Club and who appreciate its refined ambience.  As a result, it has developed into one of Adelaide’s most quietly prestigious and inclusive Clubs for discerning men and women from across the spectrum of professional, civil, government, and commercial backgrounds.

Our Club provides facilities where members can enjoy one another’s company or host and entertain friends and colleagues.  Members have exclusive access to interest groups aplenty and a vibrant events program, many featuring fine dining experiences in our main Dining Rooms.  The Members’ Bar is a comfortable hub of social interaction.  Our business and industry members find that our facilities and ambience provide an attractive backdrop for the conduct of business and social activities.

The jewel in the crown of the Club is undoubtedly our private garden, unique in the CBD among like facilities.  It is a delightful environment for all manner of Club and Private events in the warmer months.

Our professional staff, the Board and the broader Membership are all committed to ensuring that our Club will continue to evolve to meet the social and professional needs and expectations of members, underpinned by our traditions, customs and values.  As President, I extend a welcome to you to join and enjoy our Club.

Meet Our Board: About

The Board

The Board is made up of a dedicated team who are elected by members at the Annual General Meeting and, as such, it is a reflection of the membership of the Club.  It comprises a President and Vice President and a number of members who are responsible for providing strategic direction and governance of the Club’s affairs to ensure it operates effectively and efficiently in the interests of members in accordance with the statutory and legal requirements.

The Club is pleased to introduce the following Board members:


Colonel Stephen Larkins OAM (Retd)


nm&af club Oct 22 - 1[21997]_edited_edited.jpg

Colonel John C Olson RFD (Retd)

Vice President
Chair of Finance and Risk Committee


Chaplain Carl Aiken OAM (Retd)

Board Member


Ms Ann Lees

Board Member

Chair of Events Committee


Brigadier Peter Moore

Board Member


Captain Steven Patriarca

Board Member

Tim Scammell

Mr Tim Scammell

Board Member
Chair of Membership and Marketing Committee

Meet Our Board: Team Members
bottom of page